Royal Oak Theft Lawyers – Get a Free Consultation
Have you been accused of theft or larceny in the state of Michigan? Do you believe that a misunderstanding could be behind the charges? Or perhaps an exaggerated tale or simply falsified claims led to your arrest? It is time to back up your side of the story with serious legal counsel. Contact a theft lawyer today and see why our Royal Oak criminal defense attorneys have become the premier choice for so many clients.
At Rasor Law Firm, we stand apart from other litigators because:
- Our firm was founded in 1994
- We have handled thousands of cases
- Past clients give us raving reviews
- 24/7 availability in case of emergency
Misdemeanor Larceny Up to Felony Theft
Stealing anything of any value in Michigan is considered a misdemeanor charge. Even a $1 candy bar stuffed into a pocket on the way out of a convenience store is enough to be considered a misdemeanor, not an infraction as other states may choose to label it.
Penalties for petty larceny, or petty theft, may include:
- Up to 93 days in jail (~3 months)
- $500 fine
- Fine equal to 3x property value, if over $500
- Community service
As the law defines petty larceny, anything valued under $200 constitutes this crime. Something stolen between $200 and $1,000 is no longer petty but still a misdemeanor. The punishment is roughly four-times worse than petty larceny, hitting a jail time maximum of one year. Once the value of the stolen property exceeds $1,000 but does not exceed $20,000, felony theft has been committed. Felony theft also applies to most stolen automobile or machinery parts, regardless of value.
Criminal punishment for felony theft can include:
- Up to 5 years in prison
- $10,000 fine
- Fine equal to 3x property value, if over $10,000
Michigan Allows Restitution for Victims of Theft
If you are convicted of theft in any degree, your accuser can take you to civil claims court for any damages related to the crime, such as the value of the item taken if it is no longer in usable condition. There is also a statute in Michigan State law that applies specifically to theft taken from retail locations. Anyone convicted of taking a retail item must pay the store owner an amount equal to 10x the item’s retail value at the time of the theft. This restitution cannot be less than $50 but may not be greater than $200.
We Don’t Like Second Place Prizes – We Fight to Win
While having your charge or sentence reduced may be one solution to a criminal case, it is not ideal, and it is not our first choice. When you come to Rasor Law Firm, a tenacious and highly-experienced Royal Oak theft lawyer can analyze your case from all angles, explore every possible defense option, and put in the extra effort to fight for a dismissal or not guilty verdict. Consult with our team today to learn more about all we can do to uphold your rights before the court.