Rasor Law Firm

Top-Rated Legal Representation

Discover your options today!

"Rasor Law Got Us Results!"

Michigan Gun Laws

Royal Oak Gun Rights Attorney

While it is true that Michigan State respects the Second Amendment, it has imposed its own limitations on what firearms and guns can be owned, carried, or used in a variety of situations. If you violate the terms of any of these legal circumstances as described in the state’s legislations, you could be arrested for and charged with weapons offense crimes.

Penalties for weapons offense convictions can vary but will typically include:

  • $2,000 or more in fines paid to Michigan State
  • One year or more spent in jail
  • Removal of the right to own a firearm
  • Probation after other sentencing completes

At Rasor Law Firm, our Royal Oak criminal defense lawyers are committed to bringing strong legal advocacy to clients who are faced with some of the harshest allegations and accusations. Since our establishment in 1994, we have built a reputation for being hard-hitting, tenacious attorneys who never back down from a challenging case. Call us at (248) 543-9000 to schedule your free consultation and begin working on your defense.

Michigan Gun Laws and Weapon Laws

To be able to maximize your chances of having your charges dismissed or reduced, you will first need to understand of what you are being accused. Michigan's weapons laws do not only apply to guns, and many apply to unusual, circumstantial situations.

If you are being charged with any of the following crimes, we can defend you:

  1. Open carry: Michigan Gun laws allow any adult to openly carry a weapon in a safe, nonthreatening way without any permits. Loading or brandishing a weapon can be considered dangerous and a criminal act.
  2. Concealed carry: Knives and firearms cannot be concealed on your person or your vehicle when in a public place if you do not have a concealed carry permit. Local police departments can provide people with proper documentation to carry a concealed weapon. Each applicant must be 21 years or more of age, a citizen of the United States, a resident of Michigan for at least half a year, and complete a firearm safety training course. Applicants can be denied a permit if they have been convicted of a criminal act within recent years.
  3. Intoxication: Anyone who has imbibed an alcoholic beverage or used a controlled substance may not carry, use, or possess a firearm of any sort, regardless of permits they may or may not have.
  4. Switchblades: Any bladed weapon that can be concealed or revealed with a mechanical function, often called a switchblade, is strictly illegal for anyone to own, sell, or use. An exception has been made for one-armed individuals who require such a blade for lawful reasons in their daily lives.

When We Take Up Your Case, We Prepare for a Fight

Why should you have to wait or compromise when it comes to defending your rights against damaging weapons charges? At Rasor Law Firm, our Royal Oak criminal defense attorneys do not think you should have to! We prepare each case as if it will go to trial, and we make ourselves available to our clients 24/7/365. If you want to know what a highly-motivated law firm with unmatched skill can do for you in your hour of need, contact a Rasor Law Firm gun rights attornery today.

CONTACT OUR SEASONED LITIGATORS

Call (248) 543-9000 or request your free case evaluation online.

Call Map