Excerpt: These cases are often so charged with innuendo, mistake and dramatic consequences, people are forced to take a plea for things they didn’t do, because their lawyers are afraid of trial.
While being convicted of any crime is a serious matter, a conviction of a sex crime such as rape or child molestation can be even more serious as it can expose a person to the possibility of mandatory registration with the Michigan Sex Offender Registry (MSOR). These cases are often so charged with innuendo, mistake and dramatic consequences, people are forced to take a plea for things they didn’t do, because their lawyers are afraid of trial. Individuals convicted of certain sex offenses can be required to register their name, address, aliases, employment information, photographs, and other types of personal information with a public database that allows ordinary citizens the ability to identify people within their area who have been convicted of sex crimes. Individuals will be required to register for varying lengths of time depending on the tier in which their offense is classified.
Listed offenses are as follows:
- Tier I: Tier I offenses are the least serious types of sex offenses, including fourth degree criminal sexual conduct or indecent exposure. Tier I offenders must register for 15 years.
- Tier II: Tier II offenses are more serious than Tier I offenses and require a convicted person to register for 25 years. Tier II offenses include second degree criminal sexual conduct involving a victim age 13 or older, distribution of child pornography, or pandering. Tier II offenders must also verify their information twice per year.
- Tier III: The most serious sex offenses such as first degree criminal sexual conduct or child kidnapping are classified as Tier III offenses and require a convicted individual to register for life. Tier III offenders must verify their information four times per year.
Being labeled as a sex offender places severe limits on where a person can live and work, damaging their livelihood long after they have served their sentence. These “exclusion zones” can in some cases cover entire cities, causing extreme difficulty when trying to reintegrate with society. The intense scrutiny and negative social stigma associated with sex offender registration can forever hold a person back from ever being able to move on with their life, damaging not only their quality of life but their personal relationships as well.
What Happens if a Person Does Not Register?
Willfully failing to register as a sex offender or verify information with police is a felony offense in Michigan, carrying up to four years in prison and $2,000 in fines for a first offense. For a second offense, these penalties can increase to up to seven years in prison and $5,000 in fines. Finally, a third or subsequent offense can carry up to ten years in prison and fines up to $10,000. Non-willful failure to register is a misdemeanor, as is failure to pay the associated mandatory sex offender registration fee.
If you are facing charges for a sex crime, it is imperative you get a experienced, talented and aggressive lawyers from Rasor Law Firm involved as soon as possible to maximize your chances of securing a favorable outcome for your situation. Having fought and won on behalf of countless accused individuals since 1994, we fully prepared to take the gloves off and Fight and Win!